Awards and Scholarships

    Harold Petersen Lifetime Achievement Award

    The W. Harold Petersen Lifetime Achievement Award is open to the individual who has demonstrated dedication to their field of expertise in Disability Insurance, exhibits leadership in her professional life and most importantly has made a distinctive contribution to the Disability Insurance Industry, and has practiced their profession to the highest ethical standards attainable. Unselfish voluntary service is also a consideration in the Awards process. A commitment and dedication to the furthering of the mission of the International DI Society may also be a consideration in the selection of your candidate.

    Nominations are open to members in good standing of the International DI Society with Non-Members also eligible. Nominees may be from all countries.

    Click here to complete the online nomination form for the 2019 Harold Petersen Lifetime Achievement Award.

    Click here to download and print the form. (If you choose this option, please email completed form and documentation to [email protected]).  

    Past Recipients of the W. Harold Petersen Lifetime Acheivement Award



    W. Harold Petersen, RHU, DFP
    2006 Michael Eskra, Sr., CLU, RHU
    2007 Kenneth Wylie
    2008 Ron Cohen, RHU
    2009 Eugene Cohen
    2010 William J. Barrett
    2011 Steve Brady, RHU
    2012 Bob Herum, MSFS, CLU, ChFC, RHU, REBC
    2013 George Davidson, CLU, ChFC, RHU, DIA, CLTC
    2014 Rick Cordaro, DIA, DIF, LUTCF
    2015 Jack Schmitz, CLU, ChFC, CASL
    2016 Craig Gussin, CLU, CHRS, DIF
    2017 Keith Hoffman
    2018 Thomas R Petersen, MBA, RHU


    Ron Cohen Producer’s Scholarship

    The scholarship was created to honor the memory of one of the founders of the International DI Society, and someone who believed so very strongly in the education and mentoring of the Agent/Producer. Anyone whoever met Mr. Cohen knew that he lived and breathed DI, and his passion was infectious. In 2009, the members of the IDIS confirmed this when Mr. Cohen was honored as the recipient of the W. Harold Petersen Lifetime Achievement Award.

    The recipient of this award will be recognized at the Annual Conference and will receive the following:

    • Up to $500.00 in travel allowance
    • One year IDIS membership
    • Full conference registration
    • Three nights of hotel accommodations at the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley hotel


    Click here to submit your application online. 

    Click here to print the 7th Annual Ron Cohen Producer’s Scholarship application.